We are so proud to congratulate Mr. Buehler, Ms. Hahn, & Ms. Phillips on being selected by the School District of Lee County as Teachers of the Year in their respective subject areas!


Mr. Buehler was selected as the Lee Co. Math Teacher of the Year. He is the FMMA Math Department Head, the Chair of the School Advisory Council, the School Improvement Plan Coordinator, and an Apples Mentor. He helps coordinate Homework Huddle and is an integral part of the PBIS Committee. He has been teaching for 5 years, and this is his second year at FMMA. In both of these last two years, he has been rated the state's highest distinction of High Impact Teacher. Mr. Buehler is currently pursuing a doctorate in Educational Leadership from the American College of Education. 

Ms. Hahn is the FMMA Art Teacher and has been selected as the Lee Co. Art Teacher of the Year. She taught for three years in Polk County, and now this is her third year at FMMA. She received her Bachelor's of Fine Arts from Florida Southern College, where she majored in Studio Art with a concentration in oil painting. She also has a minor in pyschology and art history, and she studied abroad in over 13 countries during her time at Florida Southern. She loves being the Art Department Head at FMMA, is a vital part of our Homework Huddle program, and frequently assists with sporting events and schoolwide community projects.


Ms. Phillips teaches Language Arts and is the head of the 7th grade class. She has been a teacher for two years, both of which she has spent here at FMMA. Ms. Phillips also completed her initial teaching internship at FMMA as part of her education program at Florida Southwestern State College, where she earned her bachelor's degree in Middle Grades Language Arts. In addition to teaching language arts and leading the 7th grade class, Ms. Phillips is also an AVID site team member, PBIS team member, and member of the Homework Huddle team. We are very proud that she has been selected as the SDLC Language Arts Teacher of the Year!

Congratulations, teachers!